Granville History Building
History of the Granville History Building
In the early 1970s, the county planned to demolish the circa 1860 jail. The Oxford Woman's Club leased this historic property in order to open a museum. Miss Sue Bryan was the first director of the museum. By 1988 the museum closed.
The Granville County Historical Society asked the county for the lease of the building in 1994. The new museum opened in June, 1996 in conjunction with the 250th celebration of the formation of Granville County. The exhibit "Heritage & Homesteads: The Architecture of Granville County" was the first of many offered.
Because of the museum's limited space, the Society was very pleased with the offer of relocation to the "old freezer locker plant." The "jail" location was closed in 2000 with plans to reopen at a later date.
Fundraising was begun in 2003 for a permanent Granville County History exhibit in the old museum site, the "jail". Committees made up of county citizens were formed to gather artifacts and information about the topics that the exhibit would cover. After three years, the museum reopened in November 2006.
Thousands of visitors have enjoyed the rich history as told in murals, interactive exhibits, a movie, artifacts and informative text. Anyone wanting to learn the history of Granville County should begin their search at the Granville History Building!