Our Mission

   The Granville Museum encourages the knowledge and appreciation of Granville County history, general history,
the arts, and sciences through preservation, collection, and interpretation. We are committed to serving as an educational resource and inspiring our community to create a better future.  

Our History

The Granville County Historical Society was incorporated in 1964.  Throughout the years, the Society has been involved in
many projects to preserve the history of this area. 
From establishing a marker for the first Court House at
Oxford Plantation, to indexing records, to collecting artifacts,
the Society has been actively securing and protecting bits of Granville County history for over 50 years.

The purpose of the Granville County Historical Society is to discover and collect material which helps to establish
or illustrate the history of the area and preserve these items through the museum, administered by the society. 

The Granville Museum is owned and operated by the
Granville County Historical Society,  a 501(c)3 non-profit organization.  We operate through memberships, donations, sponsorships, obtaining grants, and fundraising events.  Your memberships and tax-deductible donations help preserve the vital heritage ofGranville County and help support theGranville Museum.

 Join us in our pursuit to continue to bridge generations!​​​​​​​

Our Staff and Board of Directors​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
Staff with Santa

Meet the Staff:

Executive Director: Stephanie Velazquez May​​​​​​​
Museum Guide & Docent Chair: Judi Farrell

GCHS Board of Directors

President:  Steven Sievert
Vice President: 
Mark Pace
Secretary: Vacant
Corresponding Secretary:  Emily Champion
Treasurer:  Marshall Tanner​​​​​​​​​​​​​​
Steven Sievert
Members at Large
 Angie Arnold
John Burns
Jim Crawford
Jean Gill
Toni Anne Wheeler
Adlai Woodlief